Speaking Engagement

Annual Employment Law Update For California Employers

2/25/2010

Webinar

Webinar Times
9:30 am – 11:00 am Pacific
10:30 am – 12:00 pm Mountain
11:30 am – 1:00pm Central
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm Eastern

Registration is complimentary for Seyfarth clients

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100

Including Notable 2009 Legislative and Wage and Hour Developments

In these tough economic times and pro-labor leanings in both the Legislature and Congress, employers must stay ahead of the curve. It is no surprise that the Obama Administration, Congress, and federal agencies were very busy last year carrying out the Administration’s pro-labor agenda, extending benefits to unemployed workers, and handling near-record numbers of discrimination charges. In contrast, the California Legislature was relatively quiet on the employment law front, enacting very few notable employment laws. California and federal courts made up for the Legislature’s inactivity, issuing many decisions of consequence to California employers—especially in the wage and hour arena.

Learn what these developments mean for you in 2010 at our upcoming February Breakfast Briefing. We will guide you through these changes and discuss practical suggestions to comply with the new laws and avoid unnecessary lawsuits.

Specific Briefing Topics Include:

  • A recap of 2009 California employment legislation
  • Administrative agency regulatory news, including news from the DLSE and the EEOC
  • Notable 2009 federal developments, including The Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act and the COBRA subsidy extension
  • Key wage and hour court decisions regarding:
      • classification of workers as exempt from overtime laws
      • attorney-client privilege and outside counsel
      • deferred stock compensation plans
      • premium pay for missed meal and rest periods
  • California and U.S. Supreme Court decisions on punitive damages, harassment, employee privacy rights, and arbitration agreements


CLE:

Seyfarth has applied for CLE credit in IL, NY, and CA.  If you would like us to pursue CLE credit in any additional states, please contact sguigliano@seyfarth.com. Please note that in order to receive full credit for attending this webinar, the registrant must be present for the entire session. This program is appropriate for both newly admitted and experienced attorneys. Financial aid is available to those who qualify.

If you have any questions, please contact, Sarah Guigliano at sguigliano@seyfarth.com.