Speaking Engagement

EFCA Webinar

4/24/2008

Webinar

1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. EST; 12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. CDT;
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. MST; 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PDT

The Employee Free Choice Act (“EFCA”) is organized labor’s top legislative issue going into the 2008 Presidential Elections. The proposed legislation will likely be enacted by the U.S. Congress in 2009 under a Democratic administration. It is legislation that Congress has been working on, under the radar, since 2003. If enacted, EFCA will dramatically shift the balance of power in the American workplace by amending the National Labor Relations Act of 1935 in three main ways:

  • It will eliminate employee secret ballot elections, in favor of card check union certification;
  • It will dramatically increase penalties against employers for unfair labor practices; and
  • It will impose contract terms on employers through binding, third-party interest arbitration, where no first contract is reached after 120 days of bargaining.

The purpose of this webinar is to explain the significant changes proposed by the EFCA, the likelihood of its passage, the enormous impact it will have on the labor relations landscape and the responsive steps your company should consider taking NOW, in preparation for tomorrow.

Don’t be caught unprepared.

Who Should Attend:

This webinar is directed toward members of the general counsel’s office, HR Directors, HR staff, and managers of and advisors to employing entities who have a predominantly non-union workforce.

Speakers:

Jim Baird
Kristin Michaels
Stuart Newman
Mark Ross
Bob Smith
Jack Toner

Login and dial-in information for the webinar will be distributed to registered participants before the event. If you have any questions, please contact Cassie Vertovec at cvertovec@seyfarth.com.