Speaking Engagement

Health Care Reform: What it Means for Collective Bargaining

6/29/2010

Webinar

Webinar

Webinar Times:

1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern
12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. Central
11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Mountain
10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Pacific

Registration is complimentary for Seyfarth clients

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100

In March, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), as later amended by the Health Care and Education Tax Credit Reconciliation Act of 2010, became law. The enactment of health care reform has profoundly changed the benefits landscape, creating numerous challenges for employers. Employers with collective bargaining agreements or new union relationships face particular burdens in navigating legislation which is at once complex, vague, and inconsistent. Please join us for a webinar that will review the short- and long-term consequences of the Act for unionized employers.

Topics include:

  • The extent to which, if at all, plans maintained by collective bargaining agreements are “grandfathered” with respect to the legislation
  • The impact of the new definition of “full-time” employee on negotiations
  • Mandated plan changes and how they will increase contract costs
  • Retiree medical coverage implications
  • Penalties relating to the failure to provide sufficient coverage
  • Effect of the legislation on multiemployer plans
  • Status of the so-called “Cadillac” tax and its effect on collectively bargained plans
  • Bargaining considerations in light of this groundbreaking legislation

If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com and reference this event.