Speaking Engagement

Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009

4/1/2009

Webinar
Webinar

12:30 p.m.–1:30 p.m. EDT
11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m. CDT
10:30 a.m.–11:30 a.m. MDT
9:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m. PDT 

On January 29, 2009, President Obama signed into law the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009. The Ledbetter Act is a direct response to the United States Supreme Court's decision in Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., Inc., which held that employees cannot bring Title VII disparate pay claims alleging discrimination occurring outside the 180/300-day statute of limitations period. The Ledbetter Act changes the rules for calculating the statute of limitations, allowing plaintiffs to sue over employment decisions made long ago.

Please join Seyfarth Shaw attorneys in a discussion of the implications of the Ledbetter Act, and the critical procedures employers need to put in place.

Topics include:

  • What does the Ledbetter Act provide?
  • What claims are revived by the Ledbetter Act?
  • What impact will the two-year "backpay" limitation have on claims?
  • How will the Ledbetter Act affect the Hulteen benefits case now before the Supreme Court?
  • What should employers do to combat the risk of Ledbetter Act claims?
  • Will the Ledbetter Act spawn more class action litigation?
  • What is the status of the proposed Paycheck Fairness Act?

Who Should Attend:

Speakers:

Camille Olson, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Mark Casciari, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Kristin McGurn, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Annette Tyman, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Continuing Legal Education:

Due to the volume of registrants, we are unable to offer CLE credit for this event.


If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com