Speaking Engagement

Pension Protection Act of 2006 - What Does It Mean to Employers Contributing to Multiemployer Pension Funds?

9/28/2006

Teleconference Briefing

The call will begin at 1:00 p.m. CST and is scheduled to last one hour. Participation is free, but prior registration is required.

Materials and call-in information will be sent by email on the afternoon of Wednesday, September 27th.

The recently passed Pension Protection Act (PPA) includes some of the most sweeping changes for multiemployer pension plans since the adoption of the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 (MPPAA). Over 25 years after the passage of MPPAA, Congress again attempts to shore up poorly funded multiemployer pension funds by giving them important – and for participating employers, costly – new tools to collect more contributions from employers. Any employer participating in (or considering participating in) a multiemployer pension fund needs to know what the PPA means, and how it may impact the bottom line.

On Thursday, September 28, 2006, Seyfarth Shaw’s Employee Benefits, ERISA Litigation and Traditional Labor practice groups will host a one-hour conference call, during which our attorneys will discuss the PPA, including: 

  • The PPA’s multiemployer provisions and their purpose. 
  • Its impact on employers who participate in multiemployer pension plans. 
  • Its impact on the collective bargaining process. 
  • Strategies to minimize the PPA’s impact for those employers.

Time: 1:00 p.m. Central
(2:00 p.m. Eastern, Noon Mountain; 11:00 a.m. Pacific)