Speaking Engagement

Servicemember Amendment and Proposed Revisions to FMLA Regulations

5/14/2008

Chicago

Webinar

Time:

12:30p.m. - 1:30p.m. EDT; 11:30 a.m. - 12:30p.m. CDT;
10:30a.m. - 11:30a.m. MDT; 9:30a.m. - 10:30a.m. PDT

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) was amended earlier this year to provide for two new types of leaves.  First, employers must grant 26 weeks of leave in a single 12-month period to care for an injured or ill servicemember when the servicemember is the employee's spouse, child or parent, or when the employee is the servicemember's next of kin.  Second, employers must grant 12 weeks of exigency leave related to situations where a family member is on active duty or is notified of a call to active duty status, in support of a contingency operation.  Although exigency leave is not effective until the Department of Labor (DOL) issues final regulations, the DOL is encouraging employers to offer exigency leave immediately.
 
In addition to the servicemember amendment, the DOL issued proposed regulations to the FMLA which will make significant changes in the interpretation and administration of the law if they become final. Although these regulations are proposed, they provide insight as to DOL's position on many currently unsettled issues.

This webinar will provide guidance on the new servicemember amendment and what an employer needs to know for effective implementation. There will also be a discussion regarding the proposed regulations.

Who Should Attend:

Human resource professionals and in-house counsel with responsibility for leave matters.

Speakers:

Joan Gale, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Ellen McLaughlin, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Register:

The cost of attending this program is $100 per attendee. 

Login and dial-in information for the web conference will be distributed to registered participants one day prior to the event.

If you have any questions, please contact Dena Kill at dkill@seyfarth.com.