Speaking Engagement

Understanding GINA - The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008

6/24/2008

Webinar
Webinar

Time:

12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. EDT;
11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. CDT;
10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. MDT;
9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. PDT

The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA) now is law. It prohibits discrimination because of the genetic information of an applicant or employee, or their family members. It also requires employers to maintain the confidentiality of genetic information and strictly limits the disclosure of genetic information.

Our panel, featuring Dr. Wendy Rubinstein, Medical Director at Evanston Northwestern Healthcare Center for Medical Genetics, and three Seyfarth Shaw attorneys will address:

  • Why genetic testing is so important to our rapidly evolving health care system,
  • How genetic testing is done,
  • GINA's prohibitions on employment discrimination, health plan enrollment restrictions and premium adjustments based on genetic information, and
  • GINA's limitations on the collection and disclosure of genetic information.

Who Should Attend:

Human Resource and Employee Benefits Professionals, and In-House Counsel with responsibilities for employment and benefits.

Featured Speaker:

Dr. Wendy Rubinstein, Medical Geneticist
Evanston Northwestern Healthcare

Moderator:

Judith Wethall, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Panelists:

Mark Casciari, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Steven Pearlman, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Registration:

The cost of attending this program is $100 per dial-in line.

Login and dial-in information for the web conference will be distributed to registered participants one day prior to the event.

If you have any questions, please contact Dena Edmiston at dedmiston@seyfarth.com.

CLE:

Seyfarth has applied for CLE credit in IL and CA. If you would like us to pursue CLE credit in any additional states, please contact Dena Edmiston at dedmiston@seyfarth.com. The following jurisdictions have restrictions on CLE credit in place that this program does not meet: AL, CO, IN, KY, LA, MN, MS, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, TN, UT, KS and VT.