Speaking Engagement

Webinar: Understanding Workplace Class Action Litigation Trends For 2010

2/11/2010

Webinar

2:00 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. EST
1:00 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. CST
12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. MST
11:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. PST

Registration is complimentary for Seyfarth clients

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100

Strategies For Corporate Counsel For Dealing With Evolving Trends in Workplace Class Actions

The sixth annual Workplace Class Action Litigation Report by Seyfarth Shaw LLP has become the leading compendium of federal and state court complex litigation rulings and trends.  Please join Seyfarth attorneys for a webinar that focuses on these trends, their impact on workplace litigation, and steps that employers can take to minimize litigation risks in 2010:

  • First, FLSA collective action and ERISA class action filings increased in 2009, and displaced workers filed more age discrimination lawsuits.  What can businesses do to re-tool their operations and prepare for further litigation in 2010?
  • Second, the volume of wage and hour litigation continued to out-pace all other types of workplace class actions.  How can employers minimize wage and hour litigation risks in 2010?
  • Third, it is expected that employers will encounter more investigations and more governmental enforcement lawsuits as a result of the Obama Administration's emphasis on regulation and enforcement.  How can employers prepare for these investigations?
  • Fourth, the plaintiffs' bar continues to devise techniques to adapt to the Class Action Fairness Act of 2005, and rulings on the scope, meaning, and application of the law are already numerous for a statute of such recent vintage.  What should employers know about how the plaintiffs' bar is approaching this act?   
  • Fifth, class action plaintiffs’ lawyers are a tight-knit community, which fosters quick evolution in case theories, and, in turn, impacts defense litigation strategies.  What can employers do to stay ahead of this evolution?
  • Sixth, and finally, the financial stakes in workplace class action litigation increased in 2009.  Plaintiffs’ lawyers have continued to push the envelope in crafting damages theories to expand the size of classes and the scope of recoveries.  What should employers know about how plaintiffs' lawyers are approaching class action litigation and recoveries?  


If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com.