Speaking Engagement

What to Expect from the Occupational Safety & Health Administration in 2010

2/17/2010

Webinar

1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Eastern
12:00 - 1:00 p.m. Central
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Mountain
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Pacific

Registration is complimentary for Seyfarth clients

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100.

With a new Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health and a Secretary of Labor who is dedicated to ensuring that the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) is “back in the enforcement business,” employers are facing a new frontier of OSHA enforcement. Based on our observations, OSHA has become much more aggressive in issuing citations, increasing the characterization of the citations issued, and proposing higher penalties. We expect to see even further increases in 2010.  Please join us to discuss OSHA in 2010, and what employers can do now to prepare.

Topics include:

  • What employers should expect from OSHA inspectors
  • Different enforcement means that OSHA may employ
  • How employers can measure current performance of OSHA compliance
  • Role of safety committees as part of an employer’s overall
    compliance program
  • How internal and outside audits of OSHA compliance can be effective
  • Best practices for effectively handling an OSHA inspection