Seyfarth Events

Energy Workforce Summit



Location: Hilton Post Oak
2001 Post Oak Boulevard, Houston, TX 77056
(713) 961-9300

Complimentary parking provided.

Registration & Networking: 2:00 p.m.
Program: 2:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Reception: 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

There is no cost to attend but registration is required as seating is limited. To register for this important event, please click on the button below:

Please join Seyfarth Shaw LLP as we host local energy leaders in an industry summit focusing on workforce issues critical to the energy industry. The Energy Workforce Summit will feature Dr. Ray Perryman, Andres Alcantar, Brett Haugh, and other energy industry insiders.


  • The 80s energy bust, retiring Boomers, and the exploding energy economy have left companies scrambling to hire, train, and retain key talent with relevant scientific, technical, and industrial skills. We will take a look at the key employment issues that energy companies face, including:
    • How do we address the "talent gap" in today's workforce?
    • How do we turn differences among Millennials, Gen-X-ers, and Baby Boomers into workplace assets?
    • How do we prevent another "talent gap"?
    • How can we prepare tomorrow's workforce to meet future industry challenges?
    • How will tomorrow's workers be different from today's?

Our expert speakers include:

  • Dr. Ray Perryman, Founder and President of the Perryman Group (TPG), a noted economist who speaks frequently on energy industry workforce issues;
  • Andres Alcantar, the Chairman of the Texas Workforce Commission, who focuses on STEM initiatives designed to prepare our Texas workforce;
  • Brett Haugh, Principal & Executive Vice President of Ascende, a human capital consulting firm focused on the energy industry; and Other energy insiders.

The program will be followed by a happy hour reception. If you have any questions, please contact and reference this event.


Seyfarth Shaw's Energy Workforce Summit Speakers

Chairman  and Commissioner of the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC)



Andres Alcantar is Chairman and Commissioner Representing the Public of the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC). Governor Rick Perry appointed Alcantar for a term to expire on February 1, 2019.  (back to top)

Founder and President of the Perryman Group (TPG)



Dr. Perryman is Founder and President of The Perryman Group (TPG), an economic and financial analysis firm headquartered in Waco, Texas. He is widely regarded as one of the world's most influential and innovative economists.
(back to top)

Principal & Executive Vice President, Ascende



Brett Haugh, Principal & Executive Vice President, joined Ascende in 2000 as a principal. Complementing his role of business development leader, Brett is actively engaged in informing the business community of the developments and trends in human capital management and the impacts these can have on a business's profitability and overall success. (back to top)

Related Materials and Resources


Seyfarth Shaw's Energy Employment Lawyers

Seyfarth Shaw's Energy Employment Lawyers is a nationally-recognized team of employment attorneys, representing energy clients in a wide range of employment matters including counseling and advice, administrative matters, and litigation. The team is a subset of a cross-disciplinary team that draws from each of the firm's departments—Labor & Employment, Litigation, Corporate, Employee Benefits and Real Estate — in all of our U.S. offices, in order to provide a coast-to-coast national presence and both industry experience and legal expertise to efficiently and effectively handle a wide range of matters and transactions involving energy. Our Energy Employment Lawyers listed below bring significant depth and breadth in experience working for energy industry clients. For a full listing of our Energy and Clean Technologies Group attorneys,  click here.

Timothy M. Watson

John L. Collins

Gloria M. Portela

Linda Schoonmaker

Robert J. Carty

Chris Palamountain


Kate L. Birenbaum

Esteban Shardonofsky

Rachel M. Hoffer

Randy Bruchmiller

Dennis Clifford

Clark Smith

Ashley M. Hymel