Seyfarth Events

Paid Sick Leave Epidemic in 2018 and Potential Federal Cures

8/28/2018

Cost: There is no cost to attend, but registration is required.

Webinar
12:45 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern 
11:45 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Central 
10:45 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Mountain
9:45 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Pacific 
Since 2014, one of the most rapidly growing areas in employment law has been that of mandatory paid sick leave affecting private employers.  At the start of 2014, mandatory paid sick leave laws existed in only five locations around the country.  For private employers outside of these locations, paid sick leave was not mandatory and, instead, was a benefit employers could elect to offer some or all of their employees.  However, today’s paid sick leave landscape is significantly different and more complex as the number of existing paid sick leave laws has grown to at least 45.
 
The 2018 calendar year is responsible for much of this growth as several states —Maryland, Rhode Island, and New Jersey— and major U.S. cities —Seattle, WA, New York City, NY, and Austin, TX— recently adopted new or released amended paid sick leave laws.  Each law or ordinance, as is common when combating a state or local sick leave strain, contains a number of potential pitfalls for employers that must be handled with caution in order to comply with the new requirements.  
 
While the paid sick leave prognosis for the rest of the year could see these laws spread to additional states and cities, the epidemic has caught the eye of the federal government. Multiple proposals on how to handle the country’s paid sick leave patchwork, each of which will require much work before becoming a reality, have been introduced in Congress. We will examine several of these proposals, including whether they would actually provide an antidote to the paid sick leave epidemic.
 
Join us on August 28 to learn how these new paid sick leave developments affect you, and the current prospects for potential federal involvement.

If you have any questions, please contact Cassie Peterson at clpeterson@seyfarth.com and reference this event.

*CLE Credit for this webinar has been awarded in the following states: CA, IL, NJ and NY. CLE Credit is pending for GA, TX and VA. Please note that in order to receive full credit for attending this webinar, the registrant must be present for the entire session