Speaking Engagement

ADA Amendments Act of 2008 - What will the new standards mean for you?

10/21/2008

Webinar
Webinar
12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. EDT
11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. CDT
10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. MDT
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. PDT

After overwhelming bipartisan support in Congress, the ADA Amendments Act (“ADAAA”) was signed into law on September 25, 2008.  The ADAAA takes effect on January 1, 2009.  Significant changes under the ADAAA include:

  •  Expanding the definition of disability, including what it means to be “substantially limited in a major life activity”
  • Reversing prior Supreme Court decisions that narrowed the scope of coverage
  • Prohibiting consideration of mitigating measures in determining whether an individual has a disability

How will it impact employers?

For most employers, the ADAAA will mean more internal claims and requests for accommodation, more charges and lawsuits and fewer grounds for summary judgment.  Questions that will be raised and answered during the webinar include:


Who is now covered?  What new requirements do employers have?  What steps should you take to avoid litigation?  How can you avoid or defeat claims for compensatory and punitive damage? 

Please join us to discuss strategies for minimizing litigation risk under the new ADA.  The rules have definitely changed!

If you have any questions, please contact Meredith Alger at malger@seyfarth.com.