Speaking Engagement

Effect of Same-Sex Marriage on Benefit Plan Administration



Download Audio File from 'Effects of Same Sex Marriage' Teleconference

Download PowerPoint Presentation Materials


2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. EDT
1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. CDT
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. MDT
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. PDT

The legalization of same-sex marriage in California has many implications for the operation of employee benefit plans, even for companies that have no employees in California. Seyfarth Shaw LLP's Employee Benefits Department will host a teleconference to update clients on the effect of same sex marriage on the design and operation of benefit plans.

During this one-hour call, we will discuss this developing area of the law, including:

  • The legal status of same-sex spouses inside and outside of California.
  • Legal and tax implications of providing medical and welfare coverage for same-sex spouses and domestic partners.
  • Implications for retirement plans, including administering beneficiary designations, QDROs, and survivor benefits.

The conference call will also provide for an open discussion, with questions and comments from participants.

Who Should Attend:

Human resource professionals and in-house counsel with responsibility for designing benefit plans.


Fred Singerman, Seyfarth Shaw LLP


Nanette Zamost, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Tanya Moskalenko, Seyfarth Shaw LLP


Participation is free, but prior registration is required. Dial-in information and materials will be distributed to registered participants one day prior to the event.


If you have any questions, please contact Dena Edmiston (dedmiston@seyfarth.com).


Seyfarth has applied for CLE credit in IL and CA. If you would like us to pursue CLE credit in any additional states, please contact Dena Edmiston at dedmiston@seyfarth.com. The following jurisdictions have restrictions on CLE credit in place that this program does not meet: AL, CO, IN, KY, LA, MN, MS, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, TN, UT, KS and VT.