Speaking Engagement

Employee or Independent Contractor?

10/11/2011

Webinar

Webinar

11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Pacific
12:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Mountain
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern

The registration fee has been waived for Seyfarth clients.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100

Independent contractors are a significant portion of the the labor force and it is critical to ensure that they are properly classified to avoid issues with federal and state wage and hour laws. Recently, the Labor Department has announced that it has hired additional investigators to focus on this issue, as well as signing agreements with with the IRS and several states to share information consequently increasing the exposure you face.

This webinar will explore the various tests governmental entities use to determine whether an individual is an independent contractor or employee, potential risks for misclassification and practical tips for staying in compliance.


If you have any questions, please contact contact@seyfarth.com.