Speaking Engagement

Employers Hold On To Your Seats! A New Wave of PAGA Litigation is Coming

3/15/2011

Webinar

Webinar

Webinar Times:

11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Pacific
1:00 p.m to 2:00 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern

The registration fee has been waived for Seyfarth clients.

General registration is available for non-clients for a fee of $100

This webinar will explore the impact of two recent cases with respect to "suitable seating" claims and explores other Wage Order provisions that will form the basis of additional California Private Attorneys General Act ("PAGA") exposure.

The California Court of Appeal cases, Bright v. 99¢ Only Stores, 189 Cal. App. 4th 1472 (November 12, 2010) and Harris v. Home Depot U.S.A., Inc., 191 Cal. App. 4th 210 (December 22, 2010), expand employer liability under PAGA for violations of the rather esoteric Wage Order provisions relating to an employee's right to suitable seating at work.

These Court of Appeal decisions are beginning to create havoc by exposing all California employers – from large multinational corporations to small family-owned stores – to severe penalties, as well as to the burden and expense of litigation, based on obscure Wage Order provisions.  The potential exposure is not limited to retail employers; similar Wage Order provisions apply to nearly every employer in California.  Accordingly, employers with California operations (retail or otherwise) should review their working conditions for compliance with the applicable Wage Orders. 

This webinar will also discuss proactive measures employers can take to lessen the risks of exposure. 


If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com.