Speaking Engagement

SEC Rules: Liberalization of Capital Raising Processes and Adoption of Scaled Disclosure

2/27/2008

Webcast
Webcast times: 2:00 p.m. EST, 1:00 p.m. CDT, Noon MST, 11:00 a.m. PDT

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) recently adopted a series of regulations designed to streamline reporting of transactions under Regulation D, relax disclosure requirements applicable to smaller reporting companies with a market capitalization of less than $75 million and reduce resale and other restrictions under Rules 144 and 145 applicable to investors to provide them easier access to the capital markets. This liberalization program stems from the work of advisory committees at the SEC and an ongoing assessment of the federal securities regulatory system.

On Wednesday, February 27, 2008, attorneys from Seyfarth Shaw’s Corporate & Finance Practice Group will host a one hour Web conference to discuss new regulations and other developments and how companies and their investors can benefit from them.  The presentation will include an analysis of:

  • Shortened holding periods, the elimination of trading restrictions and other amendments to Rules 144 and 145 under the Securities Act of 1933
  • Availability of short form registration on Form S-3 to smaller reporting companies
  • Elimination of “SB” registration and reporting forms and new a la carte scaled disclosure options for smaller reporting companies
  • Streamlined Regulation D private placement disclosures and mandatory electronic filing of Form D with the SEC
  • Supreme Court decision in Stoneridge limiting the scope of the private right of action implied in Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act and Rule 10b-5.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

If you have any questions, please contact Annie Hetzel at ahetzel@seyfarth.com.