Speaking Engagement

2008 Workplace Class Action Litigation Report Trends for 2008

2/28/2008

Webinar

Webcast times: 12:00p.m. - 1:30p.m. EST; 11:00a.m. - 12:30p.m. CDT; 10:00a.m. - 11:30a.m. MST; 9:00a.m. - 10:30a.m. PDT

Login and dial-in information for the web conference will be distributed to registered participants before the event.

The cost of attending this program is $100 per attendee.

 

 

What are the key trends impacting employment class action litigation today and how will they impact employers in the coming year?

 

Seyfarth Shaw LLP’s fourth Annual Workplace Class Action Litigation Report analyzes the leading class action and collective action decisions of 2007 involving claims against employers. Please join Seyfarth Shaw attorneys for a webinar that will discuss highlights from the report, including the following four key trends that developed in 2007 and their impact on employers:

  • The volume of wage and hour litigation continues to increase exponentially. What does this mean for employers in 2008?
  • The Class Action Fairness Act of 2005 (CAFA) continued to have significant effects on workplace litigation, primarily wage and hour class actions filed in state court. How will this impact litigation strategy over the next year?
  • The financial stakes in workplace class action litigation increased yet again in 2007. What should employers know about how the plaintiffs' bar and the government are approaching damages recoveries in 2008?
  • Plaintiffs’ lawyers have resorted to state court forums on a more frequent basis to pursue employment-related class action litigation. What does this mean for companies in 2008?

Who Should Attend:

Members of the general counsel's office and HR executives and directors.

Speakers:

Jerry Maatman, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Lorie Almon, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Ian Morrison, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
David Kadue, Seyfarth Shaw LLP