Webinar

Jan 25, 2022

Overseas Discovery: Overview of Discovery Tools and the Powerful Section 1782 Statute

Click for PDF

Cost

There is no cost to attend, however registration is required.

Tuesday, January 25th, 2022
12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Pacific
5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. UTC
1:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. HKT (January 26)
4:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m. AEDT (January 26)

This webinar will be recorded and offered on demand following the program.

About the Program

Cross-border and international discovery in civil litigation can be complicated. As cross-border litigation becomes more common, the ability to obtain discovery from overseas or in connection with litigation outside the United States is critical. There are a number of options to obtain discovery from overseas for use in US litigation, though the procedures can be difficult to utilize. For non-US litigation, the United States has a powerful federal statute. Section 1782 allows parties to a foreign litigation to obtain expansive, US-style discovery from US individuals and entities for use in the foreign litigations. US courts interpret Section 1782 broadly and its use is becoming more frequent. As a result, it is important for overseas litigants and US-based entities who might be targeted with Section 1782 subpoenas to understand the scope and impact of this statute. 

Seyfarth’s International Dispute Resolution attorneys Eddy Salcedo and Owen Wolfe will discuss key points regarding overseas discovery procedures and Section 1782. This webinar will cover:

  • Obtaining discovery in a US action from sources in other countries/territories.
  • Letters Rogatory
  • Hague Convention
  • Testimony at Embassy
  • Blocking Statutes
  • Discovery Outside the US Via Section 1782

If you have any questions, please contact Sadie Jay at sjay@seyfarth.com and reference this event.

This webinar is accredited for CLE in CA, IL, NJ, and NY. Credit will be applied for as requested for TX, GA, WA, NC, FL and VA. The following jurisdictions accept reciprocal credit with these accredited states, and individuals can use the certificate they receive to gain CLE credit therein: AZ, CT, NH. The following jurisdictions do not require CLE, but attendees will receive general certificates of attendance: DC, MA, MD, MI, SD. For all other jurisdictions, a general certificate of attendance and the necessary materials will be issued that can be used in other jurisdictions for self-application. If you have questions about jurisdictions, please email CLE@seyfarth.com.